August 13 & 20

August 13

Hey mom and dad, so this has been a little bit of a crazy week. We are here now with the assistants and are getting g ready for p-day. So cool thing is that I am actually typing this letter on my smart phone so pretty cool. This week has been a challenging week. We have been laying it all down on the line, pushing ourselves so hard yet with little results. They will come though.

So last week in Darwin. It feels weird with that reality sinking in. I love this place and I love the people. This will always have a special place in my heart. The people are so loving and kind. They really have taken care of me and treated me as their son.
The Darwin branch has taught me many things. I think the first thing that it truly taught me is that no matter who you are, you can serve. I have seen countless people who are maybe not the most qualified but continue to serve faithfully and bring miracles about.
The second thing that Darwin has taught me is that our Heavenly Father is mindful of all of us. It’s hot here and it has been a real struggle for me in the heat. I’m not accustomed to the heat. #canadaboy. But I have seen God work miracles as I have worked through that struggle.
It’s a humbling experience coming to the end. I look back on the last two years and I don’t regret a thing. This mission has changed me. The Lord has changed me. I think you will surprised to see the Tommy Dickson that will come off the plane. I have come to gain a love for the Lord and a knowledge that He is truly there.

 

Anywho crazy week!
Love,
Elder Dickson
Krista – Hooray my phone might die but we will email as long as we can. Dad and I were just at the beach…. a very strange sensation. What do you have planned special for the last week?
T-lots of meal appointments, members are scrambling to feed me before i go
K-That’s really kind…. it will be more than you have had your whole mission…. and for the last. Darwin PDay?
T-head to the city and take some photos
K-Awesome…. take photos of people too. Especially at your dinner appointments. You have had lots of success and it will be interesting to see how you have laid a foundation for the missionaries who follow. I can’t quite believe this. Do you know yet what will happen that eeek in Adelaide
T-no i dont
K-Are you going through all your stuff… are some things staying in Darwin? Phone about to die…. if I stop emailing know that is why
T-yeah im soorting it out
Brent- Hey it’s dad. I’m having a great time with mom. I am in beach nirvana.  We snorkeled and saw a 3 foot long sea turtle. I touched its shell and then mom told me it is illegal. Oops
T-haha only illegal if yu get caught
B-I am addicted to ocean waves. Can listen to them all day. This trip is good for us. It has been a tough haul with Jake.
T-i ggotta go love ya heaps!
B-Finish strong. You are in our thoughts and prayers all the time.
August 20
Hey mom and dad, so I am writing this email to you while I am flying down from Darwin. Sad day. So it has been a great time in Darwin. I love those members. So I did hear mom that you have been talking to sister chick! They had elder Syme and I over for dinner last night as a final hoorah.

Something that sister chick said to me really stuck out. She looked at me and said “well done thou good and faithful servant. You have truly brought sunshine to this branch”. I have to say i almost broke down. It has been a hard go in Darwin. The heat has taken its toll on my body and I am exhausted but I can truly say I have laid it all on the alter of sacrifice.
Over this last week in Darwin we have had a lot of members inviting us over for dinner. A lot of wise counsel was given to me and don’t worry mom photos were taken. Darwin will always have a special place in my heart.
So as for some lessons that I have learned this week.
This week I was asked to speak in Sacrament meeting on any topic that I would like. I decided to base my talk on Helaman 5:12. I think it is a scripture that we all know but I’m not sure it is one we truly understand. At least I didn’t.
In the verse we see Helaman giving his final counsel to his sons. He teaches
“12 And now, my sons, remember, remember that it is upon the rock of our Redeemer, who is Christ, the Son of God, that ye must build your foundation”. Now what is a foundation? A foundation is a stone or solid object set into the ground. It is immovable and will last through any situation or storm if the foundation is strong. Now to tie it back to us. The foundation of Christ is immovable it will be there whether or not we build on it. Our quest is to mount ourselves to the foundation of Christ.
Now the question how do we do that? We do this by coming to know the Saviour. It is our life quest to understand, come to know and love God. “3 And this is life eternal, that they might know thee the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom thou hast sent.” As we truly come to know and understand who the Saviour is we are slowly yet surely building upon His rock.
Now to the second part of the scripture. “That WHEN the devil shall send forth his mighty winds, yea, his shafts in the whirlwind, yea, WHEN all his hail and his mighty storm shall beat upon you, it shall have no power over you to drag you down to the gulf of misery and endless wo, because of the rock upon which ye are built, which is a sure foundation, a foundation whereon if men build they cannot fall.” Once again this scripture is instructive. Helaman teaches us here that it is when not if the hail and the storms come. That is something that I learned from cyclone Marcus. The city of Darwin has been through many cyclones and because the houses in Darwin were prepared for the winds that were sure to come and attached firmly to their foundations they did not fear.
“34 Therefore, fear not, little flock; do good; let earth and hell combine against you, for if ye are built upon my rock, they cannot prevail”.
I know that as we build upon the rock of our saviour that no matter the winds, no matter the hail or the mighty storms that will come our way we will not fear but move forward with faith. As we build on him increased peace and joy come into our life. Remember Christ descended below all things so that he can lift you above all things.
Love,
Elder Dickson
K-Oh… you made your old mother cry! That is a brilliant testimony and talk topic. I think Sister Chick got it just right, you did bring sunshine to the branch and you have had a very unique experience that not many missionaries get to be in one place for that long and build relationships. I cant wait to see the pictures!
B-Nicely done son!  Can’t wait to hear more of these stories. Two of your longest letters these last two weeks. I think you will do fine in English class.
K-Awesome! I hope you write your feelings about your mission and about Darwin when you have some time this week. It will be a treasure for you later in life and for your future family. What is on the schedule for Adelaide?
T_so im back in evandale with elder huot and elder siaw!
B-So you flew earlier today?
T-yeah i left darwin at 7 am
B-Nice, so do you work with them the rest of the week?  Is it a lot cooler in Adelaide?
K-Oh I think I love Elder Siaw ! Every picture I have ever seen of him he seems like such a kind and happy missionary. I’m sure Elder Huot is great too. Do you go to the temple this week?
T-yeah its 20 degrees colder and yeah ill be with them the rest of the week – yeah ill go this week – first time in a year
B-It averages 33C in Hawaii and is only 18C here today. I’m freezing. I’m thinking it may be a lot tougher for you. 🙂
T-so yeah darwin averages 33 as well and its 11 here
K-Do you even own a coat anymore? Getting you ready for Canada! Sister Chick sent me the picture of you with her family. I LOVE it. What a treasure. I know Darwin has been hard work but I can’t get over the relationships you built there and the good that you have done !
B-So do you spend your whole time with them or will there be some different stuff you do besides the Temple?
T-yeah i had one at the mission office that i am wearing now -so i will have a couple trainings this week but other than that normal proselyting
K-Do you also have those paintings from earlier in your mission stored at the office?
T-yes
B-Are you in an area in Adelaide or is it further out?
T-in adelaide
K- I saw Elder Ivory is going home on the 24th. Will you get to see him this week?
T-i will see them tonight and i dont think so, will find that all out this week though – oh by the way how do you wear cufflinks?
K-Ok… now I saw your email with the VERY Important information. I will read and let you know… Cuff links… use a special shirt… we will buy one when you get home. A gift?
T-the hasletts bought me a really fancy pen and cufflinks as a goodbye gift
K-Awesome… we will shop here and you will look AMAZING!
B-Fancy Schmancy
T-haha thanks mom
K-I just read your leavers letters…. I’m really glad you get to do those activities with Elder Ivory… that feels like full circle after sharing a room in the MTC. Is Elder Ward with you too?
T-yes
K-Oh I’m glad… when you said they were going home earlier I was worried that you would be doing those activities alone… once a worrying mom… always a worrying mom! We’re getting the banner ready! I can’t wait…. HOORAY!
T-haha dont go too overboard mom
K-OH… I am trying… but you have to know that there is NO way I am not having at least one poster at the airport… and yes I WILL be that geeky mom and Drew will mock me but I claim first hug!
T-haha sounds about right
K-I am not the only one… Elder Ivory’s mom was posting stuff too! And Elder Kuru… who comes home in about a month. Now for the not fun part… cleaning the house and getting ready for school!
B-When it comes to mission stuff overboard is Moms middle name.
T-haha krista overboard dickson
K-Alright, alright… I think I have been quite restrained…. at least I have done my best. Enjoy the FHE tonight. Do you have any sisters with your group?
T-yeah sister starling and sister harrison – i gotta go love ya heaps!
K-HEAPS>>>HEAPS…HEAPS!

Leave a comment