Happy Birthday Tommy! March 19

Hey Mom and Dad,

Thank you for all the birthday wishes! So the funeral for Elder Sennett is on Wednesday and we will be singing each life that touches ours for good. I didn’t really know him very well but I did know that he was a great example to us missionaries. Presidents Lien would always be “would Elder Sennett do that” he was a real hero to our mission. Yes we still have the baptism coming up. This Friday at 7pm. So a little bit about Darcy. Darcy is 19, He is Aussie, studying to be a nurse, originally from Tasmania, got in contact with the church through his girlfriend from another ward, is literally the golden investigator. Elder Miague is doing great. He really stepped up in confidence this week and is starting to take the lead in most things and yes his culture shock is almost gone. Anytime we see food he hasn’t had, we buy it. This week has been pretty normal. I made some pancakes Grandpa Steed and Dad style (mickey mouse blueberry). We had trade offs with the zone leaders and I was able to learn a lot from Elder Radovan from the Phillipines. pretty normal overall.

lots of love

Elder Dickson

Krista – Did you get your birthday package? I mailed it in January but I hope it got there. I have been watching this cheesy show about Australia’s border patrol where they stop people flying in who are smuggling things and they open packages if they contain stuff they are suspicious about so now I am hyper worried about your packages.

Brent – Glad all is good and Elder Miyagi is feeling more comfortable. Taylor and Teigan were pretty proud of their picture.

Tommy – yes I got the package and just different ways to do the work than what im currently doing. and im sure teigan and taylor were sooo proud of that

Brent – Teigan is a ward missionary. He is learning the discussions and sharing them with members. Taylor is supposed to start th soon too.

Krista – Good, I am looking forward to seeing some epic birthday pictures with your decorations!

Tommy – that would have been soo helpful to do before the mission

Brent – President Craig has been encouraging this. Our missionaries don’t have lots to do so hopefully this engages them. Our new sisters are doing a lot with the Laurels.

Tommy – so who does teigan go out with?

Brent –  Teigan goes out with Bro So or Brother Blanco. It seems to be working well.

Krista – The apartment looks small but relatively clean. Do you have laundry in the suite? That is interesting to hear about Darcy. I’m glad you will get to be a part of his baptism. Does he have a good support network outside of his girlfriend? Are you enjoying the new ward?

Tommy – yeah he has a really good support network in the ward. yes we do have laundry in the flat and yeah im loving the ward. we have great members who just love us

Krista – You have been very fortunate in the wards you have served in. Tell me some more about what you have learned from Elder Radovan. How does he teach differently?

Brent – Well you are just sooooo loveable. So far my biggest contribution as a rugby coach is my driving the bus to the Soccer Center. It is warming up but lots of snow on the field. Just signed Benny up for the Hornets. He will play with Lance Watson.

Tommy – hes just very bold with the way he invites people to do things. I would say “can we give you a card” and he would say “ill leave you with this then” – benny will love rugby – and ahhhh the soccer centre turf

Brent – I hope so. It will help having Lance there. They both want to be like their big Brothers.

Krista – Do you have any other investigators other than Darcy? How will singing for the funeral work. Will all the missionaries in Adelaide sing or just some?

Tommy – all the missionaries in the adelaide zones and yeah we have a few but none super solid yet

Brent – So who else are you working with. Any cool stories? Mom has been watching a cheesy movie titled Australia from the 90s. She is hooked.

Krista – That will be a great experience. That must be at least 40 missionaries. Have you been practicing? I’m glad you have some more investigators, hopefully they will stay interested.  What do you do that is special for a birthday in the mission?  Ok… in my defense Drew and I both decided this movie is super dumb but I feel like I have to finish it.

Tommy – so for our birthdays there really isn’t anything special other than sister parker calls you in the morning and we are going to practice at district meeting – what is it about?

Brent – I think moving cattle. Hugh Jackman is in it. It would have been better if he was Wolverine from X-men

Krista – It’s kind of confusing. The first half is about  a cattle drive from the outback to Darwin before WW2 and then it switches to a story about the Japanese bombing of Darwin. It has Nicole Kidman and Hugh Jackman… but no Wolverine vibe. Trying to finish it right now… not sure I am getting through it!

Brent – Everything is better with Wolverine!

Tommy – that sounds kinda weird

Krista – I taught my last Sunday School lesson today. I am going from teaching Gospel Doctrine to Nursery….I think I got a promotion!

Brent – I don’t think we will save it for you. Chambers went to a big international 7s tournament in Vancouver. I tried to convince him Australia over New Zealand. He didn’t agree.

Tommy – who won the 7s tournament? and I heard talk about an upgrade

Krista – But you will be happy to know that the boys won’t let me delete ” In the Good Old Summertime”. They say we have to watch it when you come home!

Brent – It is weird being in Bishopric and talking about your wife’s calling changing a month before it happens and not say anything to her.

Tommy – haha that is a little weird and I swear  I will never watch that movie

Brent – South Africa beat England in the final. I watched most of it. Best game was Fiji vs. USA in the 3rd place game. Fiji won – Canada did really well. Finished 12. Biggest Rugby crowd ever in Canada. 72,000 over two days.

Tommy – Fiji is supposed to be really good at 7s. was Canada in the tourney?

Krista – OOOOOOOHHHHH I sense a challenge!  Now I really do want to save that movie!!!!. Lots of good things about Nursery, cute kids nice people but have to admit the snacks are a little awesome! Benny would love Nursery too. He spent all night at the family dance playing with Eddie Trim who by the way is a fabulous dancer. Drew’s only reply was lucky you, runny noses and stinky diapers. I don’t think he is as keen on the under 3 set!

Tommy – snacks is all im for and that’s really good Canada did well

Brent – I can get my own snacks. I will pass on the diapers. What is some of the best food you like that is Australian.

Krista – Grandpa and Ry came over for dinner… somehow Joseph ended up here too. He has a good sense for good food(today was ribs). Then Benny went over to Steeds when they were having Beatons for dinner so I guess it goes both ways!

Tommy – some of the best aussei food is the aussie burger hands down the one with beet and pineapple

Krista – Tell me about Darcy’s baptism. Do the missionaries make up the program or the ward? Will you have any part in it?

Tommy – im doing the baptism but the ward makes up the program

Brent – Beet? Not sure I can support that. I had the most amazing burrito in San Diego. Probably won’t have one that good any time soon. 3 more days of students 2 days of PD, then spring break. I am ready. Be sure to send us some pictures. I am excited for you.

Krista – What a great experience. Today in Sunday School my lesson was about missionaries and we spent a lot of time talking about the joy that comes from bringing one soul unto Christ. You will always remember this.

Tommy – we are sooo excited – we have to go ill talk to you next week.  love ya!

Krista – Love you heaps! Happy Birthday

Tommy – wow mom you’ve already adopted the aussie term

 

 

Leave a Reply

