Feb 20, 2017 – Happy Family Day

dscn0471dscn0475dscn0480dscn0488dscn0501dscn0506dscn0514dscn0530dscn0513dscn0532

Hey Mom and Dad,

So these four days have been pretty uneventful. It has rained the past two days and has been “cold” as elder angelo calls it. (21 degrees) So we called our referral and she picked up we said it was the missionaries and she instantly hung up. I guess we are just being tested in our faith. nothing super interesting in happy valley ward. Just loving the members! They love our companionship and request to have us over for dinner. I’m gonna be really sad when I leave this ward., They have basically become my family. This week we have just been doing a lot of finding and unfortunately to no avail. The flood gates will open eventually though! Oh and funny story so this week we biked to the very top of our area (seacliff) and we locked up our bikes and went finding. When we came back to the bikes my tire was flat so since nobody could pick us up we had to walk 8 km from sea cliff to the flat uphill pushing our bikes. Lots of fun but a good chance to see the ocean view. Thats my week
love ya
Elder Dickson
hey hey hows the last few days been?
Brent – ‎So you can go crazy eating at members houses because you work it off on the bikes! Guess you don’t have tire repair kits with you. Nothing too exciting here. Jake is obsessed with slamming doors. Makes him super popular in our house.
Krista –  Oh goodness… I guess there is balance in all things… tough missionary work but a great ward.! i guess you just have to keep working and serving and hope that some people are touched.

It sounds like you are doing lots of biking and walking… you sure haven’t had much luck with bikes. Are you learning to fix them?
Tommy – yeah thats one thing i regret i didnt know how to do was to fix bikes. but ive taught myself
Krista – I’m sure you are learning lots of practical things as well as spiritual things. How is your household knowledge holding up?
Brent – You should see my form in a scrum now. I would have made an awesome loose Head!
Tommy – household knowledge? – loosey as they call it – so are you going to be coaching the forwards?
Krista – Can you clean and cook? Broken any more windows???
Brent – ‎I also got better at going north south rather than side to side in touch rugby.
Tommy – yes i can clean and cook mom and nope no wrestling between us. and yeah that confused me the most dad was the lack of side to side. took me a while to learn but chambers smashed it into me
Brent – ‎I am doing forwards for juniors and working with Chambers who is doing the Sr forwards. The goal is to practice together as much as possible. Planning on learning a lot from him.
Tommy – ok who is going to coach the backs?
Brent – ‎The clinic was really good. Led by a coach from Thirsk and one from Rundle. Gave great coaching technique. But I am sore today. ‎By the time you get home I might look like I know what I am doing.   Chmilar does juniors. Not sure about senior backs yet.
Krista – I’m glad you’re doing well. Can you believe you have been out 6 months????  That’s so exciting! Grandpa is telling me details about New Zealand geography. Is all of Adelaide as hilly as your area?
Tommy – ok thats gonna be good – no adelaide is very flat except for my area – i put some photos in the drive, youll have to show grandpa the spider one. it was about the size of half my hand
Brent – ‎So glad you get the hills! If you have to walk 8 km at least it is by the ocean.
Krista – So where in the Philippines is Elder Angelo from? City? Rural? What part of the country?
Tommy – hes from manila and yeah look at the photos i got dad
Brent – ‎So what kind of numbers do you have to report. We used to have to report contacts and teaching appointments.
Tommy – we report 1) baptisms and confirmations 2) baptismal dates 3) investigators at sacrament 4) new investigators
Brent – That sounds pretty good. We counted every person we talked to while finding. Sometimes I found we were more worried about the numbers than the person.
Tommy – yeah we have to count that but we dont report that to salt lake
Brent – Keep the pictures coming. They are lots of fun to share.
Krista – Grandpa and I just looked at the photos…. I’m not impressed by the spider!!!!!!! But the view pictures are super cool. Is that the area you were talking about where the bike broke down? I also liked the tag pictures and the picture of the smiley face dinner. Whose idea was that?
Tommy – tag pictures were me and thats elder angleo’s birthday dinner
Brent – So there were only 3 out of 17 priests at church today. Drew seemed kind of confused. Jake is now saying your name in his room. Maybe he senses we are emailing.
Krista – I love it! Did you make the smiley face food for him? He looks like such a nice boy. Every time I see him he is smiling. No wonder the ward likes the two of you. you are a big social guy and make friends easily and it looks like he is easy to get along with. it’s your old volleyball bag… he has adopted it! Dad is going to be so jealous of the ocean view pictures. They are very beautiful!
Brent – ‎So next week is pi.k tshirts day. The fashion show was impressive. This year the shirts are grey with hot pink lettering that says “Dude Be Nice”. Got the idea from a shirt at CSLC last fall.
Tommy – do you have a picture of them?
Brent -I’ll send you pictures next week. The Pink shirt day is wednesday. Not sure what else we will do this semester. Last year ASLC kept us busy.
Krista -That’s cool! Uncle Shane’s family is down in Provo at Maddie’s recital.  It is a big deal and Maddie has worked really hard for it
Tommy – yeah grandma sent me photos of it
Krista – That’s good! Not sure you are going to get any pictures of recitals from our family anytime soon… Maybe I will just take a picture of Drew working at Treehouse 🙂
Tommy – haha thats a recital i guess
Krista – SIster Parker had a great picture  of your Zone she just posted. You are on the end with Elder Ivory. It’s fun to see those missionaries that you went through the MTC with.
Tommy – how has leadership been this year? whats the coolest thing you did?
Brent – ‎It is different this year without the conference. I would say the pep rally was awesome. I also liked Coyote Week. The funniest day was Are you smarter than Trump. Fischer was dressed as Trump and competed with students on stuff like who could build the best wall. ‎This week I am going to Shaw and MidSun to teach their Gr 9 Leadership classes. Gotta recruit for next year. I have fun doing it.
Tommy – so do you go for a day and just teach? or is it a workshop?
Brent – ‎I just go when they have their class. I show some pictures and do some fun activities with them to get them to take the course next year. Between that and the feeder conference last November and I should get enough.
Tommy – are a lot of grade 10s signing up for leadership?
Krista – So how have the new mission “rules” applied to you? Have you changed your schedule at all? Are you keeping the same hours?
Brent – We had four classes this year. Two each semester. They each have 35-40 kids. The most we had before was 3 classes. Keeps getting bigger.
Tommy – so far they havent implemente them yet, they will start next transfer (monday)
Krista – Hmmm… interesting. Remind me again what will change
Tommy – just the times of different things and we will get an extra hour of sleep and longer p-days
Brent – So transfers… think you are on the move or staying put? Always fun to speculate.
Krista – Right… now I remember. By the next time we talk to you, you should know whether you are staying put or moving. It will be interesting!
Tommy – i think im gonna move because i have been in the ward i was “born” in for 6 months
Brent – ‎I vote for the outback. I want you on a walkabout! Maybe then you can punch a kangaroo!
Tommy – im quite determined to punch a kangaroo
Krista – We can’t wait to hear. Either way would be great. A new adventure or you get to stay with people you love. Win either way
Tommy – seriously win win
Krista – Oh please… the last thing we need is to hear about the missionary arrested in Australia for assaulting wildlife!
Brent – That would make Drew proud.
Tommy – rocky 6 elder dickson vs. kangaroo
Krista – Great! Just like “Fist Fight” but the Australian version!
Brent – ‎If someone questions you just say “I’m Canadian, how it going eh?”. They will give you the Canadian pass 🙂
Tommy – ill just tell them that my divine mission was to fight this kangaroo
Krista – OH that will be a great missionary tool for the church! I can see the media now!
Brent – I have never been more proud. Have you had any more Yankee rootbeers?
Tommy – no it makes me feel sick to drink them then ride the bike – i have to go i love ya bye
Leave a Reply

